Copyright Alliance Commends Introduction of the Allocation for Music Producers (AMP) Act in the Senate

March 23, 2018


Washington, D.C. – In a statement issued today, the Copyright Alliance commended Judiciary Committee Chairman Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Ranking Member Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), and Senators Bob Corker (R-TN) and Kamala Harris (D-CA) for introducing the Allocation for Music Producers (AMP) Act – S. 2625, and for their continued support of our nation’s creators, including supporting those who work behind the scenes in today’s music industry.

According to Alliance CEO Keith Kupferschmid, “The AMP Act will create a consistent legal process for contracted studio professionals including record producers and engineers to receive royalties for their contributions to music that they help create. We thank Chairman Grassley, Ranking Member Feinstein, and Senators Corker and Harris for their leadership, along with Reps. Joseph Crowley (D-NY), Thomas J. Rooney (R-FL), and all of the representatives who cosponsored this legislation in the House; and urge that the AMP Act be promptly considered and approved.”


About the Copyright Alliance

The Copyright Alliance is a non-profit, non-partisan public interest and educational organization representing the copyright interests of over 1.8 million individual creators and over 13,000 organizations in the United States, across the spectrum of copyright disciplines. The Copyright Alliance is dedicated to advocating policies that promote and preserve the value of copyright, and to protecting the rights of creators and innovators. For more information, please visit

For media inquiries, contact:

Eileen Bramlet

VP Communications