United States Capital building

Copyright Legislation

The Copyright Alliance compiles all copyright legislation presently pending before Congress or introduced in the past few Congresses. If you’re looking for a particular bill that’s not included in the table below, please let us know so we can add it.

How to use this tableTo find copyright legislation, select the appropriate Congress from the drop-down menu titled Congressional Session.  You can also filter using the Sort By drop down option. This allows you to organize the table by Bill name from A-Z or Z-A, or by the date introduced in either chronological order or reverse chronological order. Once you find the bill(s) you’re seeking, simply click on the bill number(s) to find a copy of the latest version.

Date Introduced
Bill Name
Bill #
Intro by:
March 17, 2022
Sen. Thom Tillis (R-NC)
Introduced in the Senate
March 14, 2022
Sen. Ben Ray Luján (D-NM)
Introduced in the Senate
February 18, 2022
Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL) and Darrell Issa (R-CA)
Introduced in the House
February 3, 2022
Rep. Bobby L. Rush (R-IL)
Introduced in the House
February 2, 2022
Representatives Mondaire Jones (D-NY) and Victoria Spartz (R-IN)
Introduced in the House
February 1, 2022
Sen. Jon Tester (D-MT)
Introduced in the Senate
June 24, 2021
Rep. Ted Deutch (D-FL) and Darrell Issa (R-CA)
June 17, 2021
Rep. Joe Morelle (D-NY)
Introduced in the House
May 5, 2021
Rep. Castor, Kathy [D-FL-14]
Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary
April 29, 2021
Sen. Heinrich, Martin (D-NM)
Referred to the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation.
March 11, 2021
Rep Steve Scalise (R-LA) and Rep Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
Referred to the Subcommittee on Courts, Intellectual Property, and the Internet
February 2, 2021
Sen. Tillis (R-NC)
Passed Senate without amendment by Unanimous Consent.
February 2, 2021
Rep. Jeffries (D-NY)
Referred to House Judiciary Committee
November 18, 2019
Rep. Nadler (D-NY)
House Judiciary Committee markup Nov. 20, 2019
November 7, 2019
Senators Thom Tillis (R-NC) and Patrick Leahy (D-VT) and Representatives Martha Roby (R-AL-2) and Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY-8)
May 1, 2019
Senators John Kennedy (R-LA), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Dick Durbin (D-IL), and Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
May 1, 2019
Reps. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) and Doug Collins (R-GA)
September 25, 2018
Sens. Orrin Hatch (R-UT) and Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Sept. 25, 2018 - Read twice and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary
September 25, 2018
Reps. Jerry Nadler (D-NY) and Doug Collins (R-GA)
Sept. 25, 2018 - Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary